The One In Which I Admit the Pen Floodgates Opened

I did quite well (though not perfect) with my 2023 “No New Pens” challenge — that is, until December when the pen-buying floodgates suddenly burst wide open. Not unlike someone who’s come off of a strict diet and suddenly can’t stop eating cookies, I’ve had a strong craving for new pens which I’ve indulged. Recent additions include:

  • The Mineral White Kaweco Art Sport (my first acrylic Kaweco)
  • An f3 Pens Mystic Sucker Punch Serpent fountain pen (how could I resist a pen with that name?!)
  • The Creme and RoseGold TWSBI Eco (pretty!)
  • The TWSBI Kai (I have the Aurora and Draco so why not complete the set?)
  • A Tiger’s Eye Benu Talisman (only my 2nd Benu and 1st Talisman)
  • A few Retro 51s (Seigaiha Pen & Pencil Set, Day & Night)

AND a “Mystery Box” Karas Kustoms Vertex that arrived yesterday. Their Vertexes (Vertices?) usually run around $140 so when I saw the Mystery Box offer on their “Bottom Shelf” for $75, I couldn’t resist. The price was attractive but even more so was the “mystery” part of the purchase. I already own several Vertex pens in both acrylic and aluminum so I wondered if I’d simply end up with a repeat on my hands. What arrived is a pen composed of delightfully mismatched parts and I LOVE it.

The reddish/pinkish body, clashes wonderfully with the light green/dark blue mottled cap. The black grip bridges the color gap nicely. This morning I inked the pen with Noodler’s Cactus Fruit American Eel which kind of matches the body—and who cares if if doesn’t?

Cactus Fruit American Eel ink to the left of the pen.

This pen has a medium steel Bock nib and it’s a spot-on writer. No tweaking needed.

A bit of chatoyancy in the body.

I’ll shut off the pen-buying faucet soon, but really feel fine about indulging a bit. My rationalizations:

  • It’s Christmastime!
  • It’s my birthday!
  • I did hard things in 2023!
  • Pens are fun!
  • Life is short!

All true so there is no guilt. Just pure pen joy.

9 thoughts on “The One In Which I Admit the Pen Floodgates Opened

  1. What a lovely, unique pen that brings a smile! Great to see bright, fun colors on this white, snowy morning. I think you turned on the pen-buying faucet at the perfect time. Happy Birthday!

  2. I’m very taken with that barrell material – a lovely pinky-red, without being too shouty. I think I’d be inclined to pair it with Montblanc’s William Shakespeare Velvet Red and say job done.,

  3. Pure pen joy – I completely agree! Of course I Googled the pens you named. Good choices! And, I finally took the plunge on the Creme and Rose Gold TWSBI Eco. I am not typically a fan of rose gold. However, I kept seeing this one pop up in friends’ photos and every time I was smitten. So…I ordered it this morning. I rationalized that “hey, I use my fountain pens every day. And, I truly love the TWSBI Eco.”

    Happy Birthday, Mary!

  4. Ohhhh nice. I’m having some floodgate issues this month (didn’t really get anything for Christmas, so… obviously I need to buy myself a lot of gifts). One pen on the way, one languishing in a cart, and now this is really tempting me…

    • Enjoy your “gifts”! (Just to clarify, I suspect that everyone who orders the Mystery Vertex will get a different combination. Fun to see what arrives!)

Leave a comment