Birds Trees Life. And Pencils.

Someone has put cries of birds on the air like jewels.” — Anne Carson

The book Birds Art Life opens with this quote. It’s a fantastic book, gifted to me by a friend a few years ago. In it, the weary and overwhelmed author, Kyo Maclear, finds escape and peace watching the urban birds in the busy city of Toronto. Her father’s health was declining just as my own father’s was. When I read the following paragraph, I felt so much less alone.

Even though the worst of the crisis passed quickly, I was afraid to go off duty. I feared that if I looked away, I would not be prepared for the loss-to-come and it would flatten me. I had inherited from my father (a former war reporter/professional pessimist) the belief that an expectancy of the worst could provide in its own way a ring of protection. We followed the creed of preventative anxiety.

I’m not really giving anything away when I tell you that birds rescued her. Nature has a way of rescuing us all, doesn’t it?

I’m no Kyo Maclear, but I do find myself both fascinated and comforted by birds. “Hope is the thing with feathers…” and all that. Every spring, I try to teach myself the neighborhood birdsong, with the Merlin app as my tutor, then forget what I’ve learned over winter. Except for the cardinals. I can always pick out a cardinal’s song.

When I’m too much in my own head (an off-switch, please!), I focus on the birds announcing the day in chatters and chirps and melodies. A real mood-lifter/shifter.

I very much enjoy feeding the birds.

And watching the birds.

And laughing with the birds.

And sharing birds with my friends.

Which is why I was wowed by the set of colored pencils the same friend sent me for my birthday last month. Holy crow! Birds on colored pencils! I’ve never seen such a thing!

But wait…there’s more!

Flip the pack over and there are…

TREES! My other happy place.

Another friend and I walk through the glens at work as often as we can. In that sanctuary of trees we’re able to decompress, laugh, and exhale. Tensions ease and we move into the afternoon feeling restored and relaxed. Someday, some of my ashes will be scattered in this sacred space that means so much to me.

(Well, that took a turn, didn’t it?!)

All this to say that I love these pencils, and they’ve inspired me to get back to drawing in my journal again, like I did a couple summers ago. Remember these little gems?

Maybe I’ll attempt to draw some birds. And trees. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Birds Trees Life. And Pencils.

  1. Thank you for this post. I had not come across this quotation before but it catches my world view so well ( and far better than I could articulate it myself). I haven’t tried the birds strategy but I will.

Leave a comment