Fall: The Monteverde Prima (Brown Swirl) & Field Notes Traveling Salesman Limited Edition

Whoooeee…that’s a mouthful. But off we go…


Monteverde Prima, Brown Swirl, F nib

In order to get my day off to a peaceful/calm start, I’ve recently started an early morning ritual. Right after breakfast, I pick up one of our Silky Terriers (usually 10-year old Boo) and together we take look out into the woods behind our house. Sometimes we see birds and bunnies, maybe even a deer. But what struck me this morning were the colors. And how much those November colors remind me of the colors in the Monteverde Prima. (This sounds contrived…I know it does…but I honestly DO think like this.)

Here we are in late fall. The leaves are mostly gone, but there are still glimpses of gold and a little green and a lot of brown, in all kinds of muted shades and tones. With the sun low in the sky, the woods shimmered with the early light. Exactly like the Monteverde Prima.


Swirly goodness

With its chocolatey browns and shimmery golds, the Brown Swirl Prima is a perfect companion to the Fall Field Notes Limited Edition offering…the Traveling Salesman notebooks.


Made for each other

I’m a BIG list maker. Big. Really big. And my action/waiting/maybe lists for work and home used to be physically big…like 8.5″ x 11″ big. And at that size they freaked me out a bit. Everything just looked so LARGE and overwhelming. Around the time that I noticed a direct correlation between the size of my working lists and my level of anxiety, I fortuitously subscribed to the Field Notes Color series. Then I moved my lists from big sheets of paper into Field Notes notebooks. And I calmed down. Coincidence? I don’t think so.


Fountain pen friendly ledger paper

Since subscribing, I maintain master lists in Evernote (so they’re synced and always with me), but my daily working lists are religiously hand-written in Field Notes notebooks…one for home and one for work. The Traveling Salesman Limited Edition notebooks are this year’s fall offering, and they’re perfect for the season. The cover is a rich “Hot Fudge” brown with “Fool’s Gold” metallic embossing, while the ledger style pages are a soft green…all colors that I see in both my woods and this pen.


Like the fall forest

The nib is fine and smooth…a little finer than some of the other fine nibbed pens that I own. It’s a touch on the drier side, but that may be the ink. Once this cartridge is gone, I’ll pop in the converter (which threads into the pen…nice!), and load it with a Montblanc black or brown. The Prima hasn’t given me a speck of trouble…no hard starts and no skipping. I’m once again impressed by Monteverde.


Well-behaved nib

I see autumn and my woods in this pen and this notebook. And when I’m in the thick of a crazy work day, that’s exactly what I need.

—–

For more details on the Monteverde Prima line, check out Brian Goulet’s excellent video review at Ink Nouveau.

6 thoughts on “Fall: The Monteverde Prima (Brown Swirl) & Field Notes Traveling Salesman Limited Edition

  1. I love autumnal colours and that is a very beautiful pen. And it does indeed look great with your Field Notes – a very rich colour combination. I love matching pens and notebooks!

  2. Thanks for sharing – how does the Field Notes paper hold up with fountain pen ink? I have been close to buying some but thought that fountain pen ink would bleed through too much.

    • My fine or extra fine pens seem to behave well in the Traveling Saleman book…haven’t had feathering or bleeding. Other editions haven’t been as friendly to FP ink. I generally use ballpoint or gel inks in them, but this edition looks like it can handle some of my fountain pens.

  3. I have the Prima. It is a very enjoyable pen for my morning journal. I have had ink flow trouble with it. Cleaned it a couple of times even. Then I noticed when I switched from print to cursive my troubles with the flow ceased and it is so much better. Not sure why it is this way.

    • Hmmmm…that’s odd. I wonder if it’s partially ink related. (i.e., Maybe the ink is on the dry side and likes a steady cursive flow than stopping and starting of printing?) Haven’t used my much lately. Will have to give it a work-out and see if I encounter any issues.

Leave a comment