A Vacation In a Pen: The Woodsmen by Bear Claw Woodcraft

DSC01345.JPG

My cousins own this charming little camp in Long Lake, NY. Though tiny, it has everything you need to step away from the world without sacrificing comfort— a cute little kitchen, a strong hot shower, a wood stove. In order to get or make cellphone calls, I have to walk down their road, head to the bridge in town, and stand in just the right spot. That, honestly, is the best feature— being inaccessible. I’m never happier than when we’re vacationing at their camp.

There’s scenery…

The Wild Center

and trails…

Newcomb Trails

places to rest…

Charlie Scout, and Boo

and the world’s best pie from the Noonmark Diner

Raspberry Crumble pie

When we spend even just a few days at their camp, I feel my breath returning to a slower, deeper rhythm, my neck and shoulders unclenching, and a feeling of calm seep into almost every cell in my body. There’s no such thing as a stress headache in Long Lake. I’m pretty sure they’ve been outlawed by the town board.

IMG_1202

The Woodsmen ballpoint pen by Bear Claw Woodcraft has become a real favorite, not just because it takes my favorite ballpoint refill— the Schmidt EasyFlow 9000— but because its rustic carved body transports me to those lazy days in the Adirondacks. The look, the feel, and even the smell, remind me of the woods and of days without appointments and stress. This pen, I’m convinced, lowers my blood pressure every time I use it.

Bolt action

At 44 g, this is a weighty but well-balanced pen. The antiqued brass hardware looks right at home against the carved walnut barrel, and has proven to be sturdy and durable. The bolt action works easily with just my thumb, making it as convenient as a clicky pen, but certainly more fun. Need something to fiddle with in a meeting that just won’t end? This is your pen.

Carved body

Touted as being the only carved pen on the market, this is where the pen fits me perfectly. I love the rustic, but smooth, feel of the walnut body in my hand. There’s character and workmanship and the great smell of the natural oils used to finish the wood. This pen hits all of my Adirondack-loving buttons.

IMG_1216

The tiny wood-burned detail reminds me of a trail marker and our daily hikes on the Newcomb Visitors Center trails, where the smell of pine and the sound of loons means we’re far far away from our loaded inboxes. Bliss.

IMG_1208

The Woodsmen takes Parker-style refills, so if the Schmidt EasyFlow 9000 isn’t your thing, there are other options available (e.g., Fisher Space Pen refill, Moleskine gel refill, etc.). Priced at a very reasonable $46, Gabriel offers a pen that writes, feels, and even smells great. When I hunker down at my desk for a day of work, the Woodsmen reminds me of those warm summer days full of sun and relaxation, of pine trees and campfires and, of course, pie.

The Woodsmen is a vacation in a pen.

For another review of the same pen, check out this post by Matthew Morse. His post was the one that prompted me to buy this pen. Thanks for the nudge, Matthew!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Vacation In a Pen: The Woodsmen by Bear Claw Woodcraft

  1. The pies at the Noon Mark diner are the absolute best. It is the only pie that I would drive 2.5 hours to get and be the only reason I was making the drive. And that’s 2.5 hours one way. And the woodsman looks great too.

      • My wife and I usually buy some of the frozen ones to take home where we portion them and freeze them so we can have great pie all year long. My favorite is their blueberry apple with crumb topping. If you haven’t had that one I heartily recommend that you order one and have it shipped immediately.

      • Hopefully your husband reads the blog and has ordered you a pie. Or two. Most of the pies are 15.50 plus 5.50 shipping. So you could have delicious pie in just a day or two when you order from the website. But I also want pie now,fresh from the oven with a side of ice cream.

    • My cousin now lives there as he’s CFO at the Adirondack Museum, so no rentals. 😦 I want Noonmark pie SO BAD but am resisting the urge to mail order one. I need to get there this summer, for sure!

Leave a Reply

