Respite

Tessellations Coloring Book

So…life keeps happening. My mom was recently diagnosed with an aortic aneurysm and will need surgery in the (hopefully) near future. My sister and I are taking turns getting our parents groceries, driving them to doctor’s appointments and tests, and trying to keep the mood light. Tricky stuff.

We’re all feeling the stress and strain of the unknown. We’re all stretched a little too thin. We all need a little relief.

This coloring book, Tessellations by Creative Haven, picked up on sale at Barnes & Noble, is the perfect thing for a little mental respite. It’s full of geometric drawings that are detailed enough to be fun, but not SO detailed that coloring becomes stressful. Settling down with a page and my colored pencils keeps my mental gears from grinding on unpleasant thoughts. The toughest decision is which shade of blue to use. The other day, coloring even took my headache away.

The page above is a work in progress.

Just like life.

7 thoughts on “Respite

  1. Funny you should post this as I just bought my second adult colouring book yesterday (“Fantastic Cities”). Love adult colouring books!

      • Yes, extremely detailed which is what I loved about it but the only drawback is that it doesn’t actually list what city the drawing is of which is a bummer. I also wish it was printed on only one side as opposed to both sides of the paper as I love using Sharpies and not colored pencils in my coloring books.

  2. Your coloring is so neat and perfect! I am very curious about these coloring books. I may have to try this out for myself.

  3. You have such a great eye for colours! My thoughts are with you and your family. Both my grandma and my sister went through successful aneurism surgery. My grandma had an aneurism in her abdomen somewhere. My sister had one in a very tricky spot in her head that they never would have found except they messed up the spinal tap they were doing to check for meningitis. You are very wise and strong and I encourage you to keep worry at bay. ā¤ļø

  4. Pingback: Sunday Links: A Dog, A Horse And A Tushi | An Inkophile's Blog

Leave a Reply

