A.S. Manhattaner’s NY Artist Guild 1996 -or- The Kitty In the City fountain pen

According the the nib and the cap, this is a Sailor brand, A.S. Manhattaner’s NY Artist Guild 1996 fountain pen, which is all well and good, but I really bought it for the kitty. In the city.

And here’s my review:

Which I’ll type out (and edit a bit), because it’s undoubtedly hard to read.

I’ll be honest. I almost gave up on this pen. Back when I purchased it, I didn’t realize that there was a difference between German and Japanese nib sizes. I thought a fine was a fine was a fine. So I ordered a fine nib in this Sailor pen, thinking that it would be the same as a Lamy fine. But it’s not, it’s much finer. That’s the rule. I now know- Japanese nibs are much finer than their German counterparts. Lesson learned.

As time went by, I’d doodle with this pen, but found the line a little TOO thin and the writing experience a bit dry/scratchy. I even considered selling it. BUT- I love the “kitty in the city” graphic AND and I don’t believe that these pens are available anymore. Hmmmm.

Over time, I’ve gradually become quite the fan of fine lines* so THAT problem resolved itself. The only issue left- the writing experience. I had trouble keeping the ink flowing which definitely takes all the fun out of writing.

BUT- I recently decided to give it ONE. MORE. SHOT. I flushed the nib a bit (nothing major), installed a new cartridge and scribbled away. That did the trick!

NOW I love it. So glad I didn’t sell it.

MEOW.

*My love of fine lines can be directly attributed to the numerous reviews of various fine line pens by our favorite pen reviewer, The Pen Addict, Brad Dowdy. Thanks, Brad, for opening my eyes.

4 thoughts on “A.S. Manhattaner’s NY Artist Guild 1996 -or- The Kitty In the City fountain pen

  1. Pingback: Flashback: Sailor’s Reddish Brown Ink in the A.S. Manhattaner’s “Kitty In the City” Fountain Pen | From the Pen Cup

  2. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us
    so I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Great blog and amazing design and style.

  3. I wrote that comment on Jetpens!!!! I recently gave away my Sailor Candy because I was never happy with it. It might be that I live in the desert, but it was always dry and scratchy on the page. I’m currently on the lookout for a bottled ink that’s the same (or really, really close) to fill my favorite pen with (I adore my Esterbrook SJ). I didn’t enjoy the writing experience, but I miss that color so much. It’s absolutely fabulous and makes me smile thinking about purposely telling mom my knee hurt just so I could get that smiley face painted on my knee.

    • HAH…cool! Glad you stopped by! I vividly remember having those kitties drawn on my skinned knees. Must get an Esterbrook someday! It’s on the list!!

Leave a Reply

